Menu
Call
Call 3018 9760 Mon - Fri, 9:30 am - 7:00 pm

Personal Loans FAQs

Processing time for a personal loan can vary for different banks. The time taken to process your loan is dependent on several factors, including: requirement of a valuation, complexity of your loan, availability of supporting documents i.e. your salary slips, credit card statements etc. How quickly you return your signed loan documents. On average, it takes 14 days from the date of application submission. However, some banks can process your loan within two to three days. Please note if applicants have previously taken a loan from a bank and have paid them back on time, then it's likely the applicants will get their loan application approved faster than someone who has never applied for a loan before.

Personal Loans can be used for a number of things including

  • Taking advantage of sales.
  • Paying tax bills (tax loans) ? this is rather common in Hong Kong.
  • Children Education fees.
  • Consolidating credit card debt to enjoy lower interest charges.
  • Going on a holiday.
  • Getting married.
  • Personal emergencies.

Generally, it is advisable to limit the amount of your loan that you require. The general rule of thumb is to limit you total loan repayments (including mortgages and credit cards) to not more than 30% to 40% of your gross monthly income.

Please check if you meet the bank's eligibility criteria. It varies by banks, but in general you should be a Hong Kong permanent resident aged 18 or above with a minimum monthly income of around HKD$5,000.00

Make sure all your application documentation is in order. A typical personal loan application in Hong Kong would require the following documents:

  • Proof of Identity: (HKID) card should suffice.
  • Proof of Address: (e.g. latest utilities bill, bank statements, tenancy agreement).
  • Proof of Income: (e.g. latest salary slips and mandatory provident fund statements.) Freelancers and self-employed individuals might want to produce their personal or company bank passbooks showing regular income over the last three to six months. The latest Tax Demand Notes are strong support documents for both employees and self-employed individuals.

Note that banks have access to your credit history report from credit reference agencies such as TransUnion as part of their evaluation process. Therefore, maintaining a good credit history and demonstrating an ability to repay the loan would be an important factor in ensuring successful application.

Banks, consumer finance companies and private money lenders all offer a wide range of personal loan products that are competitively priced. Banks in Hong Kong are tightly regulated by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority. Banks tend to be more selective about borrowers and have stringent credit screening processes in place. Consumer finance companies or Private money lenders are governed under the Money Lenders Ordinance. Private money lenders are licensed by the Licensing Court and closely monitored by the Hong Kong Police Force (Licensing Office). Private money lenders tend to be less stringent and might even accommodate borrowers with more difficult credit history. If you are considering borrowing from a private money lender, we suggest that you make sure that it is properly licensed before proceeding further. The Companies Registry - Money Lenders Unit publishes a current list of all licensed private money lenders, which can be found here. (http://www.cr.gov.hk/en/public/moneylender.htm)

Expatriates that have been living long in Hong Kong or holders of a Hong Kong Permanent Identity Card can easily apply for personal loans from the banks. If you're new in Hong Kong though, you should be realistic with your expectations in getting quick approval for personal bank loans after you've only been in Hong Kong for a while and have a limited credit history.

Since personal loans are unsecured lines of credit, local banks will carefully evaluate your assessment in terms of being financially responsible even if you have a stable job and a monthly income. Local banks generally prefer to deal with people that have prior banking relationships and have proven to be trustworthy. As such you should work on establishing and maintaining a good relationship with your local banks before applying for loans.

Alternatively, new expatriates could try applying for personal loans with consumer finance companies or registered private lenders that have higher risk appetites and specialize in personal loans to foreigners.

Before applying for a loan, it helps to first estimate the maximum loan amount you can borrow. While banks often have their own distinct standards of loan eligibility, they tend to use the same range of data to calculate how much they can lend you, which include your monthly income, repayment terms and interest rates.

No, it is not. It is only a reference point. The final interest rate varies due to several reasons. Before banks decide the final quote for each customer, they will first examine their past credit records and current cash flow.

If the customer has a good credit record, they may qualify for a lower rate. At the same time, banks can charge a higher interest rate to the customers with tarnished credit records. Since these customers are perceived as a higher risk investment, they are charged comparatively higher. Therefore, a healthy credit record puts you at a great advantage and makes you more likely to get a lower interest rate on a loan.

The formula for total interest amount:

Principal x Monthly Flat Rate x Tenor (months)

In Hong Kong, the monthly flat rate is the common method used by constitutes in computing the total interest expenses for an instalment loan.

Latest news

There are many money-saving tips that you might miss in your daily life! See below MoneyHero.com.hk latest offers and money-saving tips, so you can get the most from your dollars!
  • The success of MoneyHero.com.hk has solved the "pain points" of consumers - for Hong Kong people on different products.

  • There is a big difference in the number of flight miles in a credit card exchange program, and the same card issuer can have a difference of nearly 8 times!

MoneyHero.com.hk empowers people to build healthier financial lives

Step 1:

We choose the best financial solutions for consumers, saving you time and money

Step 2:

We report opinions to financial institutions on your behalf to improve the quality of our products

Step 3:

We provide high quality information to millions of people each month

Your financial health = Our benefit

We maintain our operations with referral commissions and will not use your personal data for profit. And by working together to influence financial institutions, design products that better meet your needs.

Banks and financial institutions

They are limited by their own product range which may not fully take care of your needs.

The product terms and conditions are vague only to protect the company's own interests.

The support hotline is often busy and requires multiple transferals to reach the staff.

MoneyHero.com.hk

We handpick products such as credit cards, loans and insurance from different institutions for you to compare in a glance.

Your interest comes first! We let the product terms be transparent, plus bargain additional benefits for you.

Our product experts can provide immediate support, ready to answer your questions.
3018 9760
Monday to Friday
9:30 a.m-7:00 p.m.

Menu
電話
電話 2866 7791 星期一至五:9:00 a.m.-7:00 p.m.

你已成功登出

我們將發送一封郵件給你,請依照郵件內的指示重設密碼

私人貸款問答

每間銀行審批私人貸款申請所需的時間各有不同。一般情況下,你可以在提出申請後的14個工作日內獲得私人貸款。不過,部份銀行只需2-3天內處理你的申請。此外,申請人的信貸記錄亦會影響銀行審核所需的時間。假如申請人曾向一間銀行申請貸款,並準時清還全部金額,其後當他們再次申請貸款時,或會比從未申請過私人貸款的人更快得到批准。

以下是各種申請私人貸款的常見理由:

  • 把握買賣的好時機
  • 支付稅務 – 這在香港非常普遍
  • 子女教育費用
  • 以較低利率支付信用卡債務
  • 旅行
  • 結婚
  • 私人緊急情況

普遍來說,我們都建議借貸者只借真正需要的金額,最適當的評估是每月總還款額(包括分期貸款和信用卡)不應多於30%至40%的每月總收入。

申請前請先確保你符合借款者資格,每個貸款者訂立的資格都不一樣,但總的來說,申請人最起碼要是年滿十八歲的香港永久居民,並且月收入有$5000以上。

請先確保你有以下的申請文件:

  • 身份證明: 一般來說,你可以出視香港身分證
  • 住址證明:出視可以證明你住址的文件﹝例如近期的銀行月結賬單、租約或水電費單﹞
  • 收入證明:帶同可以證明你收入的文件,白領藍領可以最新的工資單或強積金單作證明,而自由職業者或自雇人士可以公司的銀行存褶證明近三至六個月的收入情況。最新的稅單是不論白領藍領還是自雇人士,有力的收入證明。

你要留意銀行會透過信貸評級經記,例如環聯,查看你過往的信貸報告,以作為評估的一部分,所以除了提供以上的文件外,保持良好的信貸紀錄和展示你還款的能力也是成功申請私人貸款的重要因素。

銀行、消費金融公司和私人放債人都會提供價錢合理的各種私人貸款的產品。由於銀行會被香港金融管理局所管理,銀行在選擇合適借貸者時會更謹慎。

消費金融公司和私人放債人均需遵守《放債人條例》,私人放債人的牌照是由牌照法庭所批出的,並同時被香港警務局﹝牌照事務所﹞監察。私人放債人在選擇借貸人時不太嚴謹,甚至會借款給信貸紀錄差的借貸人,所以如果你想找私人放債人借貸,必需先確保他有合資格的放債牌照,按此處(http://www.cr.gov.hk/tc/public/moneylender.htm)查看公司註冊處 – 放債人牌照持牌者的名單。

長期居住在香港或擁有香港身分證的外籍人士可以簡單地從銀行借貸,如果你新來到香港,你必需知道快速的批核貸款是不可能的,畢竟你只來到香港一段時間,而且沒有足夠的過住信貸紀錄。

由於私人貸款是非擔保貸款,即使你有穩定的工作及有可以證明你收入的文件,本地銀行也需時去評估你是否可信任和有足夠的財力還款,因為本地銀行比較希望借貸給舊有客戶及已證實可信任的人。如果你面對這情況,你可以在借貸前先和銀行建立友好關係。

相反,新來港的外籍人士可以嘗試找消費金融公司和有註冊的私人放債人借貸。

申請貸款之前,你可以嘗試計算你從借貸機構能夠借得的最高貸款額。雖然各大銀行有各自的批核借貸標準,但他們大多利用類似的數據來計算最高貸款額。若要批核成功,還取決於幾項因素:月薪、還款條款和利率等。借貸前,最好先查詢所有合適的借貸計劃,才作決定。

否。實際年利率只是一個參考利率,最終的利息可能會因為不同因素而有所改變。申請私人貸款時,銀行或會給予你不同的利率。銀行給予你最終報價前,會先查核客户的過去的信貸記錄及現金流。

若果客户的信貸記錄良好,或可享有較低息的優惠。相反,銀行也可向信貸記錄較差的客户,收取較高的私人貸款利息,因為借貸予這類客戶,會被視為較高風險的投資,所以保持良好的信貸記錄對借貸頗為有利。

計算總利息的算式如下:

貸款額 X 每月平息 X 還款期(按月計)

在香港,每月平息是銀行和其他貸款機構常用的利息單位,用來計算分期借貸的總利息支出

你可以慳得更多!

日常生活存在不少你可能忽略的理財小貼士,
MoneyHero.com.hk為你搜羅及更新優惠資訊,整理出最全面的慳錢攻略!
  • MoneyHero.com.hk的成功,正是解決了消費者的「痛點」——為香港人就不同的產品、優惠格價。

    明報

  • 信用卡兌換飛行里數計劃差異大,同一間發卡機構可以相差近8倍!聽下專家MoneyHero.com.hk 教路,點揀先至最抵。

    NOW財經台

MoneyHero.com.hk助你實現自己的理財目標

第一步:

我們為消費者挑選最佳理財方案,為你節省時間和金錢

第二步:

我們代你向金融機構反映意見,從而改善產品質素

第三步:

我們每月為過百萬人提供高質素資訊

你的利益 = 我們得益

我們以轉介佣金維持營運,不會以你的個人資料圖利。並透過共同致力影響金融機構,設計更切合你的需要的產品。

銀行及金融機構

只向客戶推銷自家產品,未必全面照顧你的需要。

產品條款複雜隱蔽,只保障公司自身利益。

支援熱線經常線路繁忙,並且需不停轉駁才能與職員聯絡。

MoneyHero

我們嚴選不同機構的信用卡、貸款、保險等金融產品讓你一眼比
較。

幫你拆解產品條款,保障你的利益,同時為你爭取額外優惠。

我們的產品專家能即時提供支援,隨時準備解答你的疑問。
2866 7791
星期一至五
9:00 a.m.-7:00 p.m.