Menu
Call
Call 3018 9760 Mon - Fri, 9:30 am - 7:00 pm

Personal Loans Glossary

Amortisation
An amortisation is the regular monthly payment of debt in instalments over a period of time. In general, amortisation applies to both personal loans and mortgage, of which the monthly repayment is in fixed amounts. The repayment includes the principal and interest. The monthly repayment is firstly applied towards the interest, whereas the rest is repaid later towards the principal. In terms of personal loans, as the monthly-flat rate is used, the repayments for the interest and the principal are in fixed amounts. In terms of mortgage, the interest to be repaid each period is based on the mortgage interest rate for the unrepaid mortgage loan amount. Therefore, in the beginning of the loan tenors, a greater portion of repayments are applied towards the interests.
Amortisation Period
The amortisation period is the tenor or the total length of time it will take to repay a loan completely.
Annualised Percentage Rate (APR)
The Annualised Percentage Rate (APR) is a number that integrates and references interest rates, loan tenors, handling fees, and other related costs that come with personal loans, revolving loans, cash advances of credit cards and so on. The APR is a good metric for mainly comparing these banking products in Hong Kong. With the APRs, some of the banks can show the actual costs of applying for loans including the interest rebate. All the APRs for the financial institutions in Hong Kong have to be determined and calculated according to the relevant guidelines from the Code of Banking Practice issued by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority.
Annual Fees
Annual fees are amounts charged on a yearly basis to credit cards, credit lines, and revolving loans. They are charged to a client's account each year for the banking product(s) used.
Borrower
A borrower is a person who accepts a loan from a lender.
Credit Line
A credit line, which resembles a revolving loan, is an account that allows a borrower to withdraw loans anytime. Borrowers can withdraw cash only within the credit limit granted; whereas the interest they have to pay is determined according to the cash amounts withdrawn on a daily basis. The credit balance of the account is restored as soon as the outstanding balance is paid.
Credit Report
A credit report is a document prepared by a credit bureau. It contains a client' personal data and details about his or her credit history, including accounts that are in good standing or past due. Banks and other lenders can use this as a reference when they process applications and use it to decide whether to approve or deny the loan application and the corresponding interest rates.
Debt Consolidation
A debt consolidation is a single loan used for borrowers to repay various debts, thereby facilitating reduction of their costs of repayment. In comparison with personal loans, debt consolidation often has higher interest rates but larger loan amounts.
Default
Default happens when a borrower fails to meet the legal obligations of repaying a loan, either by being unable to meet the payment schedule or being unwilling to honour the loan. Defaulting on a loan places a borrower into financial trouble. It tells the lender that future payments are not likely to be paid. And this, in turn, gives the lender an opportunity to claim the borrower's collateral as a form of repayment.
Drawdown
A drawdown occurs when the bank transfers the money to a borrower's account upon the approval of a loan.
Early Redemption Charge
An early redemption charge is a fee applied to loans when one pays off the loan earlier than the agreed tenor. Some lending institutions would have this charge exempted.
Fixed Rate Loan
A fixed rate loan is a personal loan type where a borrower pays a fixed interest rate throughout the duration of the loan. The fixed interest rate remains unchanged even if market conditions change. In Hong Kong, most of the personal loans offered belong to fixed rate loans.
Floating Rate Loan
A floating rate loan is a personal loan type where interest rates change according to market conditions. For example, the HKD Prime Rate is used as the standard; also a particular interest rate serves as the interest rate for the monthly repayment. Therefore, the interest rate changes with the floating HKD Prime Rate. In general, revolving loans and mortgage loans are in form of floating rate loans.
Guarantor
A guarantor is a person who guarantees that the loan will be repaid in full. A guarantor is legally responsible for repaying the loan and covering all interest, fees, and charges that come with it if the borrower is unable to make the payments. However, guarantors do not have the legal right to own the items purchased by the loans. In general, if the applicant for the mortgage loan does not have a stable income, the banks would usually request him or her to apply the loans with a guarantor.
Handling Fee
A handling fee is an administration fee regularly charged to credit cards, personal instalment loans, and other bank products for the services and convenience enjoyed by the users. In general, the yearly handling fee for personal loans is 1.2% of the loan amount.
Interest
The interest is an amount charged to borrowers by the bank or lender for the privilege of receiving a loan. In general, the interest of a personal instalment comes in form of a monthly-flat rate. In other words, the monthly interest to be repaid can be calculated with the total loan amount timing the monthly-flat rate. The lending institutions would finalize the interest rates to be charged according to the credit history held by the borrowers. Besides, generally, a lower interest rate follows a greater loan amount; whereas a higher interest rate follows a longer loan tenor.
Late Payment Fees
Late payment fees are charged by the lender when a payment date is missed.
Lender
A lender is any individual or financial institution that makes funds available to a borrower; under an agreement, the loaned amount will be repaid within a certain period of time, together with interest and other fees.
Lending Companies
Lending Companies in Hong Kong are financial institutions that makes funds available to borrowers, by which these institutions have to obtain beforehand the Money Lenders Licenses for running their businesses. In general, Lending Companies offer higher interest rates than banks in loaning. Also, the application procedures for loans in these Lending Companies are simpler with more looser vetting criteria.
Liabilities
Liabilities are the amount an individual or an institution owes to other institution(s). They usually include financial obligations like necessary payments made to other institutions(s), expenditure in issuing salary to employees of the institutions and repaying the debts owed by other financial institution(s).
Maximum Loan Amount
The maximum loan amount is the limit to the amount a borrower can receive from a lender. This amount is based on several factors like the borrower's occupation, salary and credit history.
Monthly Repayments
Monthly repayments are a fixed payment given by a borrower to the lender every month. In general, the monthly repayments for personal loans are in fixed amounts to fulfil the principal and interest. Then, the loan is fully repaid step by step over a specified period of time.
Overdraft
An overdraft occurs when a person withdraws an amount that exceeds the upper limit of the loan amount allowed in his or her current account. An overdraft facility or credit line is a pre-arranged agreement with the bank that allows a person to overdraw from the account without paying overdraft fees. Instead, the person has to pay an interest for the relevant amount overdrawn beyond the limit from the account.
Personal Instalment
A personal instalment is an usual form for personal loans. Arrangements about issues like loan amounts and loan tenors are predetermined within agreements between borrowers and lending institutions.
Principal
The principal is the amount borrowed from a lender, or the amount still unpaid on a loan. This amount excludes the interest rate and any other fees.
Security
A security is an asset pledged to back the loan. Borrowers can forfeit ownership of the security in favour of the bank if the loan is unpaid.
Tenor
The tenor is the arranged time length for the repayment of a loan. In general, a personal loan comes with a tenor ranging from 3 months to 7 years.
Unsecured Loan
An unsecured loan is a loan that does not require a collateral with personal loans as the most popular type. Besides, unsecured loans also include credit cards. Unsecured loans are awarded based on factors such as the borrower's credit rating and repayment ability . Because unsecured loans pose greater risks for lenders if the borrower defaults. For this reason, unsecured loans often have higher interest rates than the secured loans.

Latest news

There are many money-saving tips that you might miss in your daily life! See below MoneyHero.com.hk latest offers and money-saving tips, so you can get the most from your dollars!
  • The success of MoneyHero.com.hk has solved the "pain points" of consumers - for Hong Kong people on different products.

  • There is a big difference in the number of flight miles in a credit card exchange program, and the same card issuer can have a difference of nearly 8 times!

MoneyHero.com.hk empowers people to build healthier financial lives

Step 1:

We choose the best financial solutions for consumers, saving you time and money

Step 2:

We report opinions to financial institutions on your behalf to improve the quality of our products

Step 3:

We provide high quality information to millions of people each month

Your financial health = Our benefit

We maintain our operations with referral commissions and will not use your personal data for profit. And by working together to influence financial institutions, design products that better meet your needs.

Banks and financial institutions

They are limited by their own product range which may not fully take care of your needs.

The product terms and conditions are vague only to protect the company's own interests.

The support hotline is often busy and requires multiple transferals to reach the staff.

MoneyHero.com.hk

We handpick products such as credit cards, loans and insurance from different institutions for you to compare in a glance.

Your interest comes first! We let the product terms be transparent, plus bargain additional benefits for you.

Our product experts can provide immediate support, ready to answer your questions.
3018 9760
Monday to Friday
9:30 a.m-7:00 p.m.

主頁 私人貸款 私人貸款相關常用詞彙

私人貸款相關常用詞彙

分期還款
分期還款指在一段指定時間內,定期清還部份貸款。一般而言,私人貸款以及按揭都採取分期貸款的方式,如每月償還固定金額的貸款。每月的還款金額包含貸款本金及利息。每月還款的金額,會先用作支付利息部份,剩餘的用於償還貸款本金部份。對於私人貸款而言,由於採取月平息的利息計算方式,所以每期還款中利息和貸款本金是固定的;對於按揭而言,利息是基於未償還按揭貸款額的按揭利率,所以前期還款的金額會有較大部分用以清還利息。
還款期
還款期是指完全還清貸款所需的總時間。
實際年利率
實際年利率指綜合了利率、還款期、貸款手續費或其他相關貸款費用的參考利率,主要用於統一比較不同的貸款產品,如私人貸款、循環貸款及信用卡現金透支的借貸成本;部份銀行的實際年利率包括利息回贈,能夠準確反映真實的借貸成本。所有本港金融機構的實際年利率,都必須按照香港金融管理局就《銀行營運守則》所發出之相關指引計算。
年費
年費指就信用卡、信用透支及循環貸款,以年計的服務式收費金額。客戶每年使用相關的銀行產品時,其戶口會被收取這筆費用。
借貸人
借貸人指向貸方申請貸款的人士。
信用透支
信用透支指與循環貸款一樣,是一個可以供借貸人隨時提取貸款的賬戶。借貸人只需在其信用額以內提取現金,而借貸的利息按照所透支的現金額逐日計算。一旦付清所提取的金額,信用額將會恢復原來至賬戶的原有信用額。
信貸報告
信貸報告指為信貸評級公司發出的一份文件。該份文件載有客戶的個人資料及信貸記錄詳情,當中包括還款紀錄良好,或逾期還款的所有戶口資料。銀行及其他的借貸機構在處理貸款申請時,會以這份信貸報告作為參考,來決定是否批准或拒絕借貸人的申請及決定其借貸金額和利率。
結餘轉戶
結餘轉戶指此類貸款用於清還借貸人的各項債務,方便借貸人降低還款的成本。一般其貸款利率較私人貸款高,可是貸款額較一般私人分期貸款大。
拖欠還款
拖欠還款指借貸者因未能準時或拒絕還款,而沒有履行法律責任償還貸款的情況。拖欠還款表示借貸人有潛在的財務問題。因為借貸人在未來難以還款,也就是說,貸方有機會要求借貸者以其抵押品作為還款的代替。
提取
提取指銀行成功批核貸款後,把該筆貸款直接存入借貸人戶口的步驟。
提前還款費用
提前還款費用指這是借貸人在議定還款期提前,還清所有貸款的所需費用。部份貸款機構會免除這筆費用。
定息貸款
定息貸款指借貸人在指定的借貸期內,需要支付固定利率的一種私人貸款。就算市場情況有改變,固定利率都會維持不變。本港大部份的私人分期貸款都屬於定息貸款。
浮息貸款
浮息貸款指利率會根據市場情況而有所轉變的一種私人貸款。例如,以港元最優惠利率為基準,加上一個特定的利率作為每月的還款利率。因此,利率會隨著港元最優惠利率的浮動而改變。一般而言,循環貸款以及按揭貸款採用浮息貸款的形式。
擔保人
擔保人指擔保貸款會得以全數歸還的人士。倘若借貸人未能還款,擔保人需要負起有償還餘下貸款、支付全部相關利息、費用及收費的法律責任。不過,在法律上,擔保人沒有權利擁有以貸款購買回來的物品。一般而言,按揭貸款申請人若收入不穩定,銀行通常要求借貸人有擔保人。
手續費
手續費指在信用卡、私人分期貸款及其他銀行產品方面,用家需要定期支付的一筆行政費用。一般而言,私人貸款的手續費為每年收取貸款額的1.2%。
利息
利息指借貸人從銀行或借貸機構提取私人貸款後,需要支付的費用。一般而言,分期私人貸款的利息會以月平息的形式計算,即總的貸款額乘以月平息作為每月的利息支出。貸款機構會因借貸人的信用記錄來釐定最終的利率。此外,一般借貸額越高,利率越低;貸款期越長,利率越高。
逾期還款費用
逾期還款費用指借貸人逾期還款時,貸方收取的費用。
貸方
貸方指任何向借貸人提供可用資金的個人或金融機構;而該筆貸款在議定的期限下,需連同利息及其他費用一同歸還。
財務公司
財務公司指在香港,要經營放債業務的公司一般稱為財務公司,其必須取得放債人牌照才能合法經營。一般財務公司的貸款利率較銀行而言較高,而其貸款的申請手續亦較為簡單,批核條件亦較為寬鬆。
負債
負債指個人或機構對於其他機構所欠的資金。一般債務包括對其他機構所需支付的款項,對機構內員薪金所需的支出,以及對其他金融機構所欠的貸款。
最高貸款額
最高貸款額指借貸人從貸方借貸的最高金額上限。最高貸款額受到數個因素影響,例如:借貸人的職業、薪金,以及借貸人的信貸記錄。
每月還款額
每月還款額指借貸人每個月還款予貸方的還款金額。一般而言,私人貸款的每月還款額是固定的金額,用作償還貸款本金及利息。在預訂的還款期內,逐步償還貸款。
透支
透支指提取的金額超過現時戶口所允許的借貸金額時,就會產生透支。現金透支服務或信用卡透支的額度,需要與銀行提前做好協定,只要在協定的透支額度內透支,便不會產生透支費用。不過,若客戶需要從其戶口支取超過所定透支額的金額,則須支付相應的額外透支利息。
私人分期貸款
私人分期貸款指一般的私人貸款都採取固定分期還款的形式,借貸人與貸款機構商議好還款的安排,包括貸款額,還款期等。
貸款本金
貸款本金指貸方借出或還未支付的貸款金額。貸款本金不包括利率及任何其他費用。
抵押品
抵押品指借貸人為保證償還貸款,而抵押予銀行或借貸機構的資產。如果借貸人不償還貸款,就會喪失所抵押的資產。
還款期
還款期指貸款所安排的還款期長度,一般而言,私人貸款的還款期為3個月到7年。
無抵押貸款
無抵押貸款指不需抵押品的貸款,私人貸款為最常見的無抵押貸款,此外,無抵押貸款還包括信用卡。無抵押貸款的批核視乎借貸人的信用評級,還款能力等因素。對貸方來說,由於借貸人不償還無抵押貸款的風險較大,因此,所收取的相關利率一般較抵押貸款高。

從比較到申請只需3步

為何選擇MoneyHero.com.hk?

費用全免
簡單快捷
客觀公正

MoneyHero.com.hk是你的一站式比較平台,幫你比較香港的信用卡、私人貸款、按揭、保險和其他金融產品。使用我們的比較平台,獲得客觀公正的最新資訊。

Testimonial person
我經常使用MoneyHero.com.hk比較信用卡,因為網站上所有信用卡資料和優惠一目了然,不需親自到銀行逐一查詢,安全又快捷,慳錢又慳時間。我會推薦親友使用MoneyHero.com.hk的比較工具。
丘小姐,大圍

我們已為全球逾2,000萬人找到合適的金融產品

最近24小時內的比較次數

每周優惠資訊!

訂閱我們的最新消息,掌握最新理財資訊及慳錢貼士。

最新消息

閱讀我們的最新消息,掌握最新的產品資訊及慳錢貼士。所有最新消息